Florida Eligibility Requirements
All applicants applying for medical coverage must meet age, dependent status and residency requirements.
Age and Dependent Requirements
Other Insured Persons may include the following family members:
- Your lawful spouse who lives in the coverage area.
- Dependent children who live in the coverage area are covered up to age 26. Dependent children who have reached age 26 can continue to be covered up to the end of the calendar year in which they reach age 30 provided the child does not have a dependent of their own, is a Florida state resident and is not covered under a plan of their own or entitled to benefits under Title XVIII of the Social Security Act. Cigna may require such proof at least once each year until the end of the calendar year in which he/she attains age 30.
- Your stepchildren who have not yet reached age 26 who live in the coverage area.
- Dependent children, regardless of age who are enrolled prior to age 26 and are incapable of self-support due to a medically certified continuing intellectual or physical disability and are chiefly dependent upon the Insured for support and maintenance. Cigna requires written proof of disability and dependency within 31 days after the child’s 26 birthday. Periodically thereafter, but not more often than annually, Cigna may require written proof of such disability or dependency.
- Your own or your spouse’s newborn children are automatically covered for the first 31 days of life. To continue coverage past that time, you must enroll the child as an Insured Family Member by applying for his or her enrollment as a dependent within 61 days of the date of birth, and pay any additional premium. Coverage for a newborn dependent child enrolled within 61 days of birth will be retroactive to the date of the child’s birth.
- A child born to one of your Insured dependent children will be eligible for coverage from birth through 18 months of age. The child is automatically covered for the first 31 days of life. To continue coverage past that time You must enroll the child as an Insured Family Member by applying for his or her enrollment as a dependent within 61 days of the date of birth, and pay any additional premium. Coverage for a child born to one of Your Insured dependent children enrolled within 61 days of birth will be retroactive to the date of the child’s birth. Note: Contingent upon continuing payment of premium, this coverage will end when the child born to one of Your Insured Dependent children attains the age of 18 months.
- Foreign exchange students are NOT eligible dependents
Please refer to the policy for additional eligibility requirements.
All applicants and dependents 18 years and older must sign and date the application.
- Must be a citizen or national of the United States, or a non-citizen who is lawfully present in the United States, and is reasonably expected to be a citizen, national, or a non-citizen who is lawfully present for the entire period for which coverage is sought.
- Citizens/expatriates who have been living and working outside the U.S. and who are in process of returning to the U.S. are eligible to apply; the requested effective date must be after their return to the U.S.
- Applicants must reside in one of the following Florida counties at the time of application, and intend to continue living there for the entire period for which enrollment is sought:
- Indian River
- Dependents are not required to share the same address as the primary policyholder.